The Lupus Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I am a nurse, and so have totally ignored my symptoms for years. However, I recently started seeing a new doctor who insisted that I go to a Dermatologist about the psoriasis that I have had for 13 years. The Dermatologist then began asking me about psoriatic arthritis symptoms, and suggested starting Humira.
So I went back to my internist, who thought it would be wise to consult a rheumatologist before starting immunosuppressive therapy. But she did order the tests that the Dermatologist requested. Sure enough, the ANA came back >1:64 homogenous AND >1:640 speckled with a negative RA factor. So, now I am waiting for the rheumotology appointment. The referral went in two weeks ago, but no one has bothered to call me about an appointment. I called to make sure they got the referral, and they did, but they said they forwarded it to the rheumatologist with the next open appointment for review. Whatever that means.
Anyway, I hope to get some insights here, even though I don't have a diagnosis, I have fit the criteria for years.

·
Registered
8,577 Posts
Hello Mary,

Welcome to The Lupus Site. I am glad you have found us. I wonder if you might have Psoriatic Arthritis which has some features in common with Lupus. Your internist ran the basic screening test and I imagine the rheumatologist will run the full spectrum of blood tests that aid in the diagnosis of lupus and other diseases. The doctor reviewing will likely have an appointment set for you. Your ana result is significant.

I know that my Rheumatologist gets all kinds of referrals. He has said he will rarely take a new patient with an ana of 1:80 or lower unless they have significant other symptoms to alert him of possible lupus. Perhaps this is true for the rheumatologist reviewing your file.