TheLupusSite.com banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do you cope with your Lupus. I have been home 2 1/2 years now dealing with Lupus. To help me deal with my illnesses, I've dived into music as my escape. I play guitar, but have since expanded to writing music. I then got into learning how to record music as well. This is my saving grace. When things get so bad and I can't do my music I listen to music. When I had the pericardis, before I went to the hospital, I was in so much pain I sat in the chair and listened to music (cranked up very high) and crying for 2 hours. That is my escape. Hubby then took me to the hospital where I was thankfully admitted.

Nutty

·
Registered
7,800 Posts
Hi Nutty,

This is a nice idea for a thread :)

I have several escapes as I have always had several interests but funnily enough my "escape" has been through my work. I'm a translator but have also always enjoyed creative writing. I enjoy coming on here and actually enjoy writing posts. I have also written a few poems and other stuff.

Recently I have been working on a massive project which is refreshingly different from my usual things as it is a project to celebrate the 10th anniversary of a "museum" that promotes, finds and distributes (exhibitions) the work of mentally handicapped artists. For that job I have had to translate the texts for 200 artists but the texts are 600-800 words and I have been summarising them into around 200 and have had free rein to use my own words etc. I have had photos of all the works on CD as a reference so that I can "see" what I'm writing about.

I also enjoy training my dog. I used to train horses but can't even ride right now so I have found some of the same pleasures in training the dog :lol:

If I'm feeling well, I love walking in the woods (dog comes too) or going on photographic "expeditions"